IT’S MOTHER’S DAY. PERIOD!

Its mother’s day today, well I do stop to think every time, why assign a day for your mother?

Yes, I hear a lot of explanations and I reason with myself that maybe it’s the need of the hour, especially in the age and rage of lesser attention spans where we forget our own to do list for the day.

So yes, I thank all the mothers’ and their mothers’ in raising us in the best way possible. From keeping a check to letting us be and from being the villains in our teen age to being our best friends.

We all have spent some most precious moments and learnt some very basic yet important life skills from our mothers, for all the girls out there an important landmark must’ve been ‘The Period Talk’.

We all were introduced one fine morning during our early teens with a sanitary napkin and the instructions to put it on our underwear. The steps which we had only seen on TV with a fascinating blue liquid turning into gel and the best possible technology behind it. We were braced and prepared for the unexpected from an early age on and we embraced the ‘Flo’ with a little embarrassment, a little uneasiness but yes with every “motherly” comfort possible.

I was in fact alone at home during my first time, since mamma had gone out of station for some work and I had to break it to her on the phone. I was in utter dismay that day for it certainly was a big change of my life.

I look back at that time and I feel lucky that I come from a home where I could explain a short note on ‘menstruation cycle’ to my father without a hiccup during a preparation of one of my unit tests in school.

It’s obvious to feel uncomfortable at all the change and pain a small child of 12-13 has to go through, but what about the ones who were never educated or told about it?

Have we ever stopped to think about the small orphaned girls living on the streets or slums? Or about how must have their moment been? Some are even told that they are sick and made to leave their schools, adding to pain and horror that they are inflicted with a disease every month. Shocking, but true.

Yes, a change will take some time, and people are making this a topic of discussion through various activities where men are taking up the initiative through real/reel life difficulties. Getting rid of the taboo by talking more about it while some are also working really hard in finding an alternate to the plastic waste via biodegradable materials.

But while this goes on, I thank both my parents and their mothers to help me be the individual that I am today, still faltering, still learning and understanding all the pros and cons of daily life.

We all have a motherly instinct in ourselves whether or not we have given birth to a child. I pledge this mother’s day that I will try to help a little girl in need with sanitary napkins every month and be the guide she missed out on.

I wish you all a very Happy Mother’s day.

Thank you for taking out the time to read this.

Chhavi 🙂

Published by

fishfry

A fish at heart. I fish stories and nostalgia :)

Leave a comment